Group Therapy

As I'd hoped, my second CBT group therapy session on Wednesday went a little better than my first appointment did last week. This time we looked at identifying and understanding problems in terms of relationships between thoughts, feelings and behaviour, with a view to developing individual goals and coping strategies, as well as looking at different thinking styles and 'NATS' [which stands for Negative Automatic Thoughts].

I have to admit, I can see how Cognitive Behaviour Therapy might help people with Anxiety and OCD, but I'm still finding it difficult to relate what I'm being taught to my M.E/CFS. This time I was able to speak to the lead therapist after the session had ended though, so I was able to explain my concerns to her and her colleague. Once again I was basically told that the course specifically concentrates on Anxiety and that all of the members of the group experience anxiety and/or panic attacks either on their own or as part of another illness, hence the reason the therapists are taking the approach that they are, and they admitted that ultimately this could be why I'm having such difficulty in taking the strategies and relating them to my M.E/CFS.

They were, however, able to confirm that I do have an hours one-to-one session in three weeks time, where I can discuss whether I wish to remain in the group or whether individual therapy might be more beneficial to me. I'm definitely going to take that option if it's offered to me - and if it isn't then I'll ask for it. I won't get anywhere if I don't open my mouth, right???

Roll on next week.....


Last Entry | Next Entry