Is CBT Right for M.E???

I attended my first CBT group therapy session today. In theory I understand and can relate to everything that the therapist was telling us, but putting it into practice and applying it to my life is a completely different matter altogether.

You see, the course I've been placed on is designed for people with Anxiety, rather than for people whose anxiety is a symptom of another illness. For example my anxiety could have two possible origins; either it's part of my M.E/CFS, or it's a side effect caused by the withdrawl of prescription medication which I'd become addicted to. [So far my doctors haven't been able to distinguish which is more likely]. Some people might argue that there isn't a difference, that anxiety is anxiety and therefore treatment is the same, but I stand out like a sore thumb in these group sessions because at the moment, according to the 'lead' therapist, all the usual 'rules' and 'practices' don't really apply to my situation. Also, as these group sessions are for people with anxiety they aren't even touching on my OCD and M.E/CFS. Does that mean I'll be put into another group after this one in order to receive treatment for those conditions???

If I'm honest I think I'd get a lot more out of CBT if I were to have one-to-one appointments with a therapist. I know that sounds awfully selfish, but I've got so many 'issues' that have been left untreated for years that at times my head is totally messed up, and having seven other people to contend with in the group has left me feeling that perhaps I'm not really going to get as much as I could out of these sessions.

But who knows, this was only my first appointment so maybe next week will be better. I do still have my one-to-one appointment at the end of the course where I can air my concerns, and perhaps, if need be, they'll refer me for extra therapy???

As with everything else, only time will tell.


Last Entry | Next Entry