Say A Little Prayer

My Godson had his operation today. Kelly asked me to go to the hospital with her for some moral support - her Mum originally offered to go with her, but she would only worry and panic so Kelly wanted someone with her that she could talk to to take her mind off things [if such a thing is possible at a time like this].

Mark went off really well - he sat on the bed in the anaesthetic room smiling and giggling and the anaesthetist said to him "I'm just going to put some water into this tube to make sure it's ok - is that alright???". Of course, Mark is far too young to understand what's going on and just sat there with a smile on his face. The anaesthetist turned to us and said "that was the anaesthetic by the way" and Mark just yawned and went to sleep, still with a smile on his face.

After the operation he'll be in intensive care, sedated to make sure he doesn't wake up until tomorrow morning, and he'll be on a machine to do his breathing for him because he'll be so far sedated he won't remember to breathe by himself. Hopefully, if there are no complications, he should be able to come off the ventilator in the morning though.

Kellys sister arrived at the hospital about an hour ago, and her parents are visiting this evening so I decided to come home. Only immediate family can be there to see Mark tonight anyway so there wasn't much point in me staying on, and if I'm honest once Kellys sister arrived I sort of felt a little in the way. Besides, by now she knows that I'm in agony from my M.E/CFS - I don't need to say anything - we've been friends for nearly 15 years now so she can see it in my face, but the pain I'm feeling now won't be anything compared to how I'll feel if anything happens to that little boy.

Please, say a prayer for him this evening.


Last Entry | Next Entry