Therapy & Hospital Appointments

Therapy on Monday [7th Feb] went better than I was expecting it to. Rach, the new psychologist, seems extremely easy to talk to and I think over the next few weeks/months I'll learn a lot from her. I can't really put it into words, but she just seems 'right' for me. I've got to go back next Monday for a further 'getting to know you' session before the real therapy begins, but I'm glad Rach is taking the time to get to know me as a person instead of diving in at the deep end - most of the therapists I've had in the past have wanted to get stuck in almost the minute I walked through the door.

Then yesterday I had to go back to the hospital for the results of the barium x-ray which I had done in December. It turns out I have IBS so I've been given a few leaflets about changes I can make to my diet and details of websites that I can visit for more information. The doctor at the hospital also changed the medication I am taking for the Gastro Oesophageal Reflux Disease to see if that would make any difference to my symptoms and I've got to go back to the hospital in 3 months time for a follow-up appointment so he can see how I'm getting on.

I don't know why I get myself into such a panic before I have to go to these appointments. I'm guessing it's the fear of the unknown - especially when I've had tests carried out. I can't help wondering what they're going to find, if they're going to find anything and if so how serious it's going to be.

Maybe it's in my genes???


Last Entry | Next Entry