Occupational Therapy (Part 12)

It was Occupational Therapy time again today, and for a change the session turned out to be quite interesting.

The first words out of Claires mouth were 'my God girl, you ain't 'arf lost some weight - you look so thin'. I'm not sure how to take that. It's good that I have lost weight, of course it is, but I'm barely eating anymore and it's affecting me in so many ways. I rarely feel hungry nowadays, and never finish a meal that's placed in front of me, I'm weaker than I used to be, and I feel more tired now than I ever did before. Don't get me wrong, I adore food, but the nausea combined with the diet that my dietitian put me on doesn't leave me much to go on. I'm just a bit worried that I am losing too much weight too quickly and that it's going to have a bad effect on me in the long run.

Anyway, Claire has suggested that I talk to my doctor about referring me for physiotherapy for my back, and to also increase my upper body strength and leg muscles. Whether it's due to me losing weight and not eating properly, or the fact that I'm not very active I'm not sure, but lately I can barely support my own body weight. (I knew I was losing weight for a reason!!!).

She also suggested that I talk to my doctor about seeing some form of sleep therapist. I'm still struggling to sleep without the aid of my sleeping tablets and anti-depressants, and have got to the stage now where if I don't take the prescribed drugs I simply don't sleep. I don't actually know what a sleep therapist does, or how this treatment will help me, but I trust Claires judgment so I'll have to wait and see what happens in the future.

For the first time in ages I feel as though something positive is being done by my doctors, or at least tried to be done, to help me cope with having M.E. I don't know how long this feeling will last, but I have hope once again, and for now I can't ask for anything more.


Last Entry | Next Entry