Choices

'I want you to tell me what's on your mind'.

No one can really speak their mind these days - mainly because it may be taken down and used against you, (especially on certain diaries which shall remain nameless). But there are ways of getting the message across if you really want people to know what you are thinking or feeling. I'm hoping that I can get my point across here.....

Choice defines us. Choice forces us to confront our true nature - our dreams, our aspirations, our fears, our ethical fibre. Often in life, we make the wrong choice. Or, in the case of all the young men preparing to go to war - we make the 'right' choice, even though we know it is that choice which will undermine all the we have created in life. These young men are going to be faced with appalling decisions - the worst being should they harm others in order to save themselves??? It is the sort of choice that highlights an individuals conscience. If a soldier opts to save himself, his would be an understandable decision - because, after all, the instinct to survive is a huge one. And personally I don't know what I would do if I was presented with the choice that these soldiers are going to have to face.

For that reason, I hope we can all find understanding in our hearts for those who probably will have to make such a decision.

Forgiveness is one of the hardest things in life. These young men aren't going to kill and harm others out of choice, and no matter what anyone else says I think these men are being extremely courageous.

This is a stange time in my life, and one which I reckon will be viewed in hindsight as hasty and inhumane. I hope that we can all find the courage to understand the moral dilemmas that people are going to face, yet also show empathy for those who feel that going to war is the 'right' thing to do; for like me, and probably you too, they are only standing up for what they believe in.


Last Entry | Next Entry