Christmas Eve

My shoulder is still really painful. In fact it was hurting me so much earlier that Mum wanted to take me to A & E, but I doubt they'd have done much - they'd just tell me to take my painkillers and rest, so instead I saved my time and my energy, and laid on the sofa most of the day instead.

The boyfriend came over earlier and brought my Christmas pressies from him and his family. He wanted me to open them tonight as I'm not seeing him tomorrow, but I wanted to wait. I ended up opening them. I figure that I've won the 'war' over where I am going to spend Christmas Day, plus it'd make him happy, and quite possibly stop another arguement too.

His Mum and Step-Dad got me a CD player for my bedroom, a crystal glass with my name engraved into it, a CD, and a small book of quotes giving support and encouragement. Kylie, Dale and Conor (his sister, her boyfriend and their son) got me a textbook I need for my Open University course and a top. David and Vera (his Dad and Step-Mum) got me a lavender gift set from the body shop. Joanna (his half sister) got me some Belgian chocolates and a 'piggin' ornament, and finally I received a gold necklace, the new James Patterson book, and a singing snowman from my boyfriend.

I know I am really lucky and I got some lovely gifts, but their generosity has made me feel a little mean now. I don't have much money to spend on other people since I'm living on benefits, so I only got one present for each person. Deep down I know it's the thought that counts, but even so, I still feel bad.

Righty ho, I'm off now to leave a mince pie and some milk out for Santa and his reindeer. I hope that everyone has a lovely time tomorrow, and that it doesn't prove to be too stressful for everyone who, like me is sick right now.

Merry Christmas Everyone!


Last Entry | Next Entry