If You Can.....

I have so much to tell you all today, but none of it is really interesting, so if you don't want to be bored to sleep then I suggest you click away now - unless of course you are insomniac and need a sleeping aid.....

I only managed to squeeze in 2 hours sleep last night. I was rudely awoken this morning by a spotty, greasy haired bloke delivering a Chrismas pressie I had ordered from www.alt-gifts.com at 7:20am, yes that's right 7:20am. I was so not amused as you can imagine. After that I was unable to get back to sleep, so I spent most of the morning flicking backwards and forwards between channels on the t.v and writing some more Christmas cards - only another 30 something to go.

This evening I went to pick up my medication from the chemists and was told that they didn't have anything there for me to collect. Hmmmmm, odd - I took the letter to my doctors surgery myself on Monday afternoon. The lady behind the counter checked their computer system, and looked in their 'log book' but there was no record of a prescription being forwarded from my G.P. Apparently I am not the first person that this has happened to this week. Usually you give your repeat prescription to your doctors receptionist, who gives it to your G.P. He/she then writes out a proper prescription which is then sent into the chemist next door for you to collect after 48 hours. This has been the procedure for nearly as long as I can remember, but as my surgery is one doctor down its nearly impossible to get anything done properly lately. I am still waiting for my report for the Open University, and its virtually impossible to get an appointment for the same day unless you are literally at deaths door. It's almost as if you are expected to predict when you are going to be sick. Oh, and you can't book an appointment in advance as 'their computer system wont allow it'. How stupid??? Anyway, the chemist in charge gave me two days worth of all my tablets and told me to go back tomorrow as by then they should have received the prescription from my G.P. Grrrrr - I just used up loads of energy for zilch. If my doctor knew that the medicine wouldn't be ready for me to collect why not give me a quick call to let me know??? It'd be totally different if I missed an appointment - he'd probaby have refused to treat me, or something equally frustrating and petty.

As we were already out my Mum suggested we popped into Comet and Currys to see how much a new fridge freezer would cost. There isn't actually anything wrong with our old fridge, but the freezer bit at the bottom decided to pack up on us back in October, and since then Mum has been buying food each day on her way home from work. Neither of us really has the money to buy anything new, especially with it coming up to Christmas, but this is now a necessity - what would we have done over the Christmas holiday??? Anyway, we saw a pretty cool silver one which costs about �11.00 a month which we can afford so Mum ordered one there and then. It's supposed to arrive Monday afternoon, but you never know, it could arrive at 7:20am.....

I'm still a bit annoyed that nobody told me about my cousin, but I realise now that my family did what they thought was best at the time. I got another e-mail from Nathalie telling me that she didn't want too many people to know about her problems at the time anyway - admitting that you have had to go into rehab isn't really something that is accepted by society in general so she wasn't sure how her friends and family would react, but then I'm not 'just anyone', she could have trusted me. Oh well, I can't change the past. I'll just have to be there for her in the future instead.

I'm going to leave you tonight with an e-mail that was forwarded to me - hope you like it:

IF you can start the day without caffeine or pep pills,
IF you can be cheerful, ignoring aches and pains,
IF you can resist complaining and boring people with your troubles,
IF you can eat the same food everyday and be grateful for it,
IF you can understand when loved ones are too busy to give you time,
IF you can overlook when people take things out on you when, through no fault of yours, something goes wrong,
IF you can take criticism and blame without resentment,
IF you can face the world without lies and deceit,
IF you can conquer tension without medical help,
IF you can relax without liquor,
IF you can sleep without the aid of drugs,
IF you can do all these things.....

..... then you are probably the family dog.


Last Entry | Next Entry