Aussie Savings Fund / Occupational Therapy (Part 6)

Well, today was my final Occupational Therapy appointment this year. In todays session Claire, (my Occupational Therapist), went through some relaxation techniques with me, which included tensing and releasing your muscles and listening to some 'soothing' voices and 'calming' music. I didn't think either techinque was really 'me' at first though..... I just couldn't stop giggling. I felt so silly laying there with so many pillows propping me up; I had one behind my head, one under each shoulder blade and arm, one in the small of my back, one behind my knees and one under my feet. Apparently by supporting yourself in these areas you are taking the weight off your body which should help you to relax and feel weightless.

I have to say that once I got over my initial embarassment and got used to being cocooned with the pillows I did begin to feel pretty calm, so maybe I'll have to give this a go at home afterall. Claire is going to send me a copy of the music tape to listen to during my daily rest periods too which might be a big help. I found the music much more relaxing than the 'soothing voices' - when the lady on the 2nd tape began speaking she just set me off laughing again; I found it really hard to concentrate on what she was saying and relax and tense/release my muscles all at the same time. Maybe I'm not as clever as I thought.....

Later in the day Mr B came round to see me. I'm still a little annoyed with him after yesterday, but he came bearing gifts from Australia so I couldn't stay angry for too long But he just acted as though nothing happened yesterday, and I didn't want to get into another fight so I just kept quiet too. Why do some guys do that??? Act as if nothing happened I mean, when it's pretty obvious that you're still hurting on the inside??? (If you are reading this and you're a guy I apologise now, but I did say some guys, not all).

We didn't really do much this evening. I stayed in bed in my pj's as I'm pretty tired after my trip to the hospital, and Mr B is exhausted after his journey home, (I think the jet lag is only just setting in), so he just showed me some photos of his Aussie relatives and the places he visited. I've decided that one day I'd like to go to Australia. It looks like such a beautiful place, and in my opinion its one of them 'once in a lifetime' trips, and something which should go on my 'things to do before I'm 50' list..... that means I have roughly 27 years to save up.

Well, I'd better go and see what loose change I can find wedged down the back of the sofa so I can begin saving.....


Last Entry | Next Entry