1 Certificate + DWP = Skint

You might remember me mentioning in my last entry that my doctor has signed me off work for at least another 6 months.

Well, I've now received a letter from the DWP to say that they've not received my updated medical certificate, and that the one which they have on file for me expired on 19th January 2006.

So, I got on the phone to them this afternoon and it turns out that even though I sent my new certificate to them last Monday, it doesn't look like they've received it. Apparently the DWP staff were on strike last Thursday and Friday so, according to the man I spoke to, it's entirely possible that my certificate is in the backlog waiting to be processed.

That's no good to me.

I'm usually paid my Incapacity Benefit every 4 weeks, which means I'm due a payment from them tomorrow. However, as my new certificate either hasn't arrived or hasn't been processed yet, as it stands I'm not going to get any money. I've about �30 in my bank account, of which half will be spent on travelling expenses to my therapy session tomorrow. After that, I've �15 to live on until the DWP helps sort this mess out for me.

I�ve already spoken to my doctor who has agreed to write me a replacement certificate. However, I still have no money in the meantime. Even if I fax the DWP a copy of the replacement certificate and post them the original, it�s still going to be at least 7 days before the money will arrive in my bank account; if I request a giro instead, I�ve then got to wait for it to be approved and sent to me and, once I�ve received it, I�ve then got to wait for the funds to clear into my bank account. Requesting a giro could therefore take even longer than if I were to wait for the bank transfer. Either way, I�m screwed.

Ah, the joys of dealing with the DWP.

I'm not a very happy bunny at the moment, I can tell you.


Last Entry | Next Entry