Rainy Days

It's completely wet outside and I love it. It's days like today which remind me of the rainy days from when I was a little girl; each one was appreciated and adored.

The light in the living room would be switched on to make up for the darkness of the day, and Mum would usually organise and clean out closets and cabinets whilst my cousins and I would make 'boats' out of blankets and sail away on an imaginary carpet sea.

Sometimes, when the temperature was tolerable, we were allowed to play outside in the rain wearing our hooded coats and little rubber boots. I remember finding leaves and snails, putting a snail on top of a leaf, then sending them sailing one by one down the rapidly moving river against the curb. Leaves really can be snail boats.

Years later when I realised the probable demise of those snails, I felt like a barbarian. But I didn't know the consequences back then; I thought I was doing them a favour by sending them on a voyage.

I wish I could take that back, among other things.


Last Entry | Next Entry