CBT Follow-Up

I had my CBT follow-up on Monday, and it went so much better than I'd hoped it would.

Soon, as well as seeing my regular therapist, I'll be having one-to-one therapy with Simon, [the CBT therapist], and I'm also going to be attending three separate group sessions which each focus on a different topic: one will be for OCD, another for Anxiety and finally one for Depression. Then, on top of all that, I'm also going to be attending counselling sessions at my doctors surgery to help me come to terms with Geoffs death as well. And there was me hoping for a relaxing summer.....

When it's all written down in black and white like that though it makes me sound like I'm one totally messed up chick, [and I guess there's probably a few people out there who would agree with you], but in all honesty I need this help.

You see, unfortunately I've had so many therapists leave their position part way through my treatment, that, if anything, in the past therapy has done me more harm than good. Now I have two therapists who believe in me, who believe I can and will get better, and who want to help put right all the damage that's been done in the past. For me that's a first.

So yes, although I want to run kicking and screaming in the opposite direction I will go to all the various appointments, and I will overcome all of this eventually. I'm just finding it all a little overwhelming at the moment.....


Last Entry | Next Entry