Mad World

The world is going by: I see it though the window daily. Time is a shape-shifter in more ways than one. The process of its motion is not the same as it was when I was younger; it moved more slowly then. I wasn't afraid of it then like I am now. Or maybe it's just that the things I fear seem closer now, like they're gaining on me.

And now I'm 'an adult' I have to be careful what I subject myself to. I can't watch the News anymore or watch people getting caught up in the latest 'thing you have to change before anyone will love you, like you, or want to have sex with you' craze and still remain sane[ish].

I saw something a while back on t.v. about women who were having parts of their feet surgically removed so that they could wear 42" heels without their feet screaming at them in agony. Something like that anyway. Women lamenting over the size of their thighs, their hips and their breasts, or lack of them. Having surgery, taking new 'miracle' pills and trying new diets. 'Did you hear??? We're allowed to eat pasta now!!!' It literally freaks me out.

Pretty soon, if we're not on top of it, people will be whitening their pets' teeth along with their own.


Last Entry | Next Entry