The Funeral

It was my Aunts funeral today. There were about 50 or so people there to pay their respects, some of whom I hadn't seen for at least 10 years; many I'd never met at all, although we'd spoken often on the phone over the last couple of weeks.

My Uncle and my cousins looked understandably devastated, and how they managed to get through the service without breaking down I'll never know. Maybe now the funeral is over the fact that she's truly gone will sink in and they'll be able to begin to grieve properly???

My Uncle gave the Eulogy, and other friends and family shared their thoughts and memories. Part of my Uncles reading said the following:

"She loved much, and was much loved,
She sinned much, and was much forgiven,
She gave much, and was much received,
She will miss much, and will be much missed."

It's a shame I can't remember the whole passage because after the service everyone I spoke to said they found it extremely moving and a fitting tribute.

Anyway, I just wanted people to know that it went as well, [or as well as a funeral could go], and that we are all ok.


God gave me the strength today
To end this chapter well.
To help others end it also.
To say what needs to be said.
To be strong enough to comfort those who needed my hand on their shoulder, but not too strong that I missed the comfort they had for me, and for those who can only receive such a rich gift in the face of severe loss.
For when I am poor, then I am rich.


Last Entry | Next Entry