Me And My Dragon

Are there sounds that are only heard by the deaf??? Are there things unseen to those with sight??? Might the angst-ridden beauty of artistic accomplishment reveal itself more clearly to those burdened of twisted mind and unbridled emotion???

My life, despite what I've written here, has been one of more peace and routine than angst and spiritual distress. Over the past four years, since becoming ill, I have grown accustomed to the distress of percolating emotion, those feelings that lurk, coiled and ready to strike, manifesting malformed action and self-destructive choices. I've found solace, often, in the creative word, the twist of a poetic phrase. Now, it seems that I'm driven less and less to release my serpents of spiritual distress, and I guess this shows through the lack of recent entries. Things are different. Not good. Not bad. Just different.

Yet, driven or not, I know the truth. I know that there lies deep within an eternal presence, a familiar, my dragon, my creative essence that demands to be known. In each moment of my creative expression my dragon has to make herself known. The lines of poetry, the tales woven in prose, the occasional burst of fire breathed into others comments, are all glimpses of a piece of her being: scales of translucent blue, a sapphire eye blinking in the dusk, the sound of a gentle breath, a brush of a powerful tail..... She is my eternal muse. I miss her, these days. Occasionally I sense she misses me.

So I write once again today. My dragon and I; we live.


Last Entry | Next Entry