Faceache

Some of you might remember me complaining about having toothache in this entry a couple of months ago.....

Well, I went to the dentist yesterday and had two of my wisdom teeth pulled out, and I'm now doing a rather good impression of a hamster. I'm not kidding, the whole left side of my face is swollen and puffy, and I swear I'm not exaggerating when I say I'm in agony. Then again, after 11 injections and having two teeth removed I guess I should have expected to be in some pain - just not this much.

And yes, you read right a minute ago. I needed 11 injections to numb my mouth.

You see, most people I know have been given a general anaesthetic when they've had their wisdom teeth removed, but I was awake when they done mine yesterday. According to the oral surgeon one of the medications I'm on contains similar chemicals to the ones used in the injections which numb your mouth, and over the last couple of years I've built up a tolerance to whatever the chemical was called, [he did tell me which one it was, but I can't remember the name of it now]. So, when the time came for the dentist to numb my mouth the injections simply didn't work. Most people only need three before the dentist can carry out the procedure. Typical. Still, I always said I liked to be different.

It'll take a few days for the bruising and swelling to go down, so in the meantime the dentist told me to sip salt water to keep the wounds clean and to try and stop them getting infected, but doing this makes my mouth hurt even more, [although I'm sure getting the wound infected would be far worse]. Imagine cutting your finger, then eating salt and vinegar crisps immediately afterwards..... multiply that feeling by 1000 and you'll be half way to knowing what the pain feels like at the moment.

I'm off to find some ice to put on my cheek.


Last Entry | Next Entry