Learning Curve

A couple of days ago I joined a support forum for people who are dependent on benzodiazepines, and the help, support and encouragement that I've received from the members so far has been phenomenal.

Some of the stories that I've read, though shocking and saddening, are truly remarkable, and the fact that they're overcoming their addiction/dependency is giving me hope. Maybe I will be ok afterall.....

I know that coming off all my medication is going to be a slow process and that I'm not going to recover overnight, but knowing that I'm not alone in feeling the way I do is rather comforting. I guess I'm drawing strength from these people in the same way that I did when I first joined AYME last year. Of course I'd much rather these men and women hadn't been through their own personal nightmares in order to help strangers like me though.

I'm certainly on a huge learning curve these days that's for sure, and if I'm learning anything right now one of the things at the top of my list has to be the fact that I'm realising that I'm far more likely to take advice from someone who's been where I am now, than a GP who prescribes medication like smarties.

Doesn't say much for the majority of doctors in this world though does it???


Last Entry | Next Entry