Landmark

Someone asked me today what I would do if I were well.

At first the question confused me - there's so much that I'd like to be able to do I wouldn't know where to start, but they then proceeded to tell me about their 'dream job' and I realised they were asking me what I'd choose to do for a living.

Even now, at the age of 24, I still don't know what I'll end up doing when I'm well enough to work again. I've always liked words and enjoyed working for the publishers immensely, but I'm not sure that I'd ever go back. I'd also like to help other people with chronic illnesses, but I guess my 'dream job' would be working for the police - something to do with forensics and the analysis of crime scences would be ideal.

People that know me outside of diaryland, and those that have been reading my diary for a while will know that I've been attacked in the past, and that one of my friends was killed. It was because of these incidents I first became facinated in the whole process of gathering evidence and the way that substances are analysed then traced back to a specific person in order to convict them, although I've always liked crime and detective programmes. Me and Mum would often sit together on the sofa with a bottle of wine and try and figure out 'whodunnit' before the t.v cops, [sometimes we even succeeded], and my passion for crime/thriller novels became a bit of a joke between me and my friends what with me working for a publishers and everything.

My family think that a job in forensics or being a crime scene technician would be ideal for me too, but I have a feeling that my health problems will prevent me ever living my dream - the police force wont permit people with long term illnesses etc, but that doesn't mean I wont ever try.

For now though I'm content watching CSI, Law and Order and every other detective show on t.v. A girl has to feed her obsession somehow.

Oh, and as you can see I've finally uploaded a photo of Geoff to share with you. I'm afraid my scanner isn't brilliant though so I'm sorry the quality is a bit poor.

Actually today is a kind of landmark for me, as it's the first time since he died that I've been able to listen to Moby and look through old photos of him without crying my eyes out.


Last Entry | Next Entry