Acts Of Kindness

Isn't it funny how small and random acts of kindness have the biggest effect.....

After I wrote my last entry on Tuesday I received a lovely e-mail from a stranger, basically telling me to hang in there, and that they can relate to how I'm feeling. The fact that the message was sent from someone I don't even know really touched me.

Then yesterday I received some flowers from a friend, but they didn't arrive from a florist..... he got the train 300 miles to deliver them in person!!!

It was fantastic seeing Gareth again. Our friendship is one of those where no matter how much time passes we still feel comfortable in each others company, even though the last time I saw him in person was about a year ago, and being with him yesterday was just like 'old times'. We don't get to meet up very often since he joined the navy as he's often away at sea, and when he's on 24 hours leave it's too far for him to travel home, but when he's able to he e-mails me and he phones me every now and then to see how I'm doing. This time he's on dry land for a week though, so he was able to make the journey home to see his family and yours truly.

He's been serving in Iraq ever since the war, and the stories he was telling me shocked me deeply and had us both in tears - even the best news reporter couldn't explain some of the atrocities that Gareth and his friends witnessed. He told me that one night Derek, the guy who sleeps in the bunk above him, got shot in the arm while they were out searching for mines, and although he's recovered now there were other people from his ship that got killed. I could see in his face as he was talking that he'd been through experiences that no human should ever have to go through, but he's extremely proud of fighting for his country, and can't wait to get back to sea.

I'm proud of him too, and I don't want him to go back, but I know that the navy is what he lives for. Even when we were 11 or 12 he was determined to achieve his dream, and I know that if he led any other life he wouldn't be truly happy.

I worry about him so much though when he's away, and I never know if [or when] I'll get to see him again, but I know in him I have a friend for life.


Last Entry | Next Entry