A Friend You Say.....???

'You're a big girl now', they say.

'You should take care of yourself now', they say.

'You should stand on your own two feet', they say.

'Do things on your own', they say.

I already am on my own in many ways, but do you think they'd listen??? I am on my own, but I'm alone too.

They were always there for the things that didn't matter. They taught me to rely on them, told me they would be here for me.

They were here..... for all the things that didn't matter. They were here when it was fun, and happy. They were here when things were easy, and the path was carved for them to take. But when it gets tough, they say I have to figure it out on my own. Yet they complain that I'm not there when they need me.

'What about you???' I say.

'Where were you when I needed you???'

'I have nothing to complain about', they say.

'I should be happy they're still around, they say.

And all I can think is that I don't want them around if that's their attitude.

If it's that hard for them to be here for me when I need my friends, they weren't really friends of mine in the first place.


Last Entry | Next Entry