Friendly Fire

Who exactly are the American troops in Iraq trying to kill, the Iraqi people, or the British soliders that are trying to help them???

There was yet another report in todays newspaper stating that more British soldiers had been gunned down by 'friendly fire', and although injured, most of them are alive. However, there were a couple of men that weren't so lucky and that died at the hands of an American pilot. One man, Lance Corporal of Horse Steven Gerrard, said the following:

'I am trained for combat. I can command my vehical and I can keep it from being attacked. What I have not been trained to do is look over my shoulder to see whether an American is shooting at me'.

I really feel for this guy. I doubt he wants to be at war any more than the rest of us, but he's doing his bit for our country and is standing up for what he believes in. War is difficult enough, without having to try and defend yourself because your own 'side' is shooting at you.

Like many countries, the British public doesn't want our country to be involved in this war either, but us 'normal' people don't have a say; we are involved in this war whether we like it or not. I think it's about time that some of the American troops start fighting with us instead of against us.


Last Entry | Next Entry