St Patricks Day

Happy (Late) St Patricks Day!!!

The cake that I was planning to make for my Mum never actually got baked. I swear it wasn't my fault this time though. We ended up having a power cut this morning which meant I had no electricity and therefore no heat. I can't believe how much I rely on this invisible power source. I couldn't listen to the radio, watch t.v, come on-line, play my playstation, cook, make a hot drink; have a hot bath, nothing. I ended up spending most of today studying instead as there wasn't much else to do.

Mum got home from work mid afternoon armed with a huge vase of flowers and an umbrella that her work colleagues had bought her, (aparently they asked her what she'd like as they didn't want to get something that she didn't want/wouldn't use, and the umbrella was what she asked for). Still, I guess it'll come in handy when the heavens open again. Come on, I do live in London afterall.....

All in all I think she had a nice day, and she loved the poems that I wrote for her. She started crying when she read them, and as I wasn't sure what to do I just gave her a huge hug and began bawling with her!!! You know what they say, if you can't beat them, join them.

I'll leave you with the following which I heard on the radio this evening once our power was restored:

Scientists have invented a small electronic chip which, if inserted under the skin next to the left eye, will prevent patients from getting headaches'.

I have no idea whether this is true or not, but I can just imagine lots of women saying to their partners 'Not tonight love, I've got a short circuit'.....


Last Entry | Next Entry