Psychologists Appointment (2nd Visit)

Today didn't go quite as I'd expected it to. In fact it didn't actually go anywhere at all. I'm the one moving..... moving on because yet another doctor feels that they are unable to do anything to help me.

Hey! Yoo Hoo! Theres a totally frustrated sick person over here banging her head against a brick wall, because yet again 'the system' has failed her. I don't think 'they' can see me though. To them I am 'just another patient', a 'statistic', and another in the long line of depressed young people in this country.

I'll explain..... Basically CBT, (Cognitive Behavioural Therapy), is a treatment used to help people cope with their 'here and now' problems rather than ones that happened earlier on in life. I know what my 'here and now' problem is (come on, even I'm not that dumb), and I know what I need to do to try and get better, but although my mind and my heart know what I need to do; my defective body is screaming "No Way Hosea".

A lot of the relaxation techniques were shown to me by my Occupational Therapist, the depression is being dealt with by my psychiatrist, I'm seeing a dietitian, a consultant at the hospital and my GP, and somewhere along the lines I have already been taught, shown or spoken to about all normal routes that the psychologist would go through with me if I continued being treated by her. In a nutshell Kathy doesn't feel that I will benefit from seeing her again so she is going to refer me back to my G.P. Don't get me wrong, I know it's not Kathys fault, but if the OT carries out more or less the same treatment as the psychologist why refer me there in the first place???

I'm so sick of this. I thought that seeing the psychologist was a positive step, but again I feel like I've been let down, and again I'm disappointed.

Where do I go from here???


Last Entry | Next Entry