Girl In The Mirror

Wished I was anyone besides the girl in the mirror
Sitting there trying not to scream
Wished I could be a little better
Wished I could be human again
There's some glue in my shoe
Bleeding into my soul
With the music of dying guitars
Can you believe???
I want to take the taps and pound on a motherboard
Shocked from the electric sound
Radiating from my feet and my heart
Wished I could melt into the sound
And become just a melody
That appears in your head sometimes
And fades
Do you hear me???
Am I stuck there???
Like that song you heard the other day
Am I playing over and over???
A scratched CD???, a broken record???, a skipping tape???
Wished I was anyone but the girl in the mirror
Doesn't neverwhere just sound like heaven now???,
Doesn't it make you laugh
That it's only the transparent plastic - not even real glass
That people see???
The bubble-wrap emptiness
Pretended with substance
Maybe if I wrap myself in some I'll be more opaque
'Cause you'll see the hollow facade
Which is full
I wished I was anyone but the girl in the mirror
How lovely it would be to be a doll
Although porcelain shatters
Everyone loves an ever-smiling face
'Cause that's all that matters
If you have pain don't let it out
'Cause no one wants to hear
They just want the painted smile
The easy compliance
How easily they look over
The tear-smudge on the pale, chipped cheek.
Wished I was anyone but the girl in the mirror.


Last Entry | Next Entry