The Journey

Sometimes, I feel like life is passing me by; not in the sense that I�m sitting around and not enjoying it, but in the sense that the days and years are just flying by.

I barely seem to get the time or the chance to enjoy something and then the moment has passed. A friend has a baby, the next thing I know the baby is a year old. I feel like I didn�t even get the time to enjoy the whole baby thing and now she�s a toddler. Another friend gets engaged, the next thing I know they�re married and moving to the other end of the country, and I�ve yet to see the wedding photos.

I just don�t know where all that time has gone. The events that were once so important in my life, like finishing school and getting my first pay slip, seem light years away; gone in the blink of an eye. They�re only memories now.

When I look at friend�s lives it seems that so much has changed for them over the past few years. But when I look at my life, it almost seems stagnant. Sometimes I feel like everyone�s on a ship sailing out to sea, and I�m left on the dock, waving goodbye as the ship meets the skyline. Even though I know my life is going somewhere, at the same time I never seem to be moving towards anything. Maybe I�m just being hard on myself.

Some days I feel so young, like there�s so much yet to experience, so much ahead of me. Other days, I feel 100 years old; so tired and weary. I need to find a way to work a fresh attitude into my life, to start enjoying the little things, and start enjoying the journey.

I suppose that�s what the old saying tells us, anyway: that life is not about the destination, but about the journey you take to get there.


Last Entry | Next Entry