Starting 2005 With A Bang

2005 has started with a bang - literally!!!

Monday night I was sitting here writing an entry for my diary when there was a loud 'explosion' out in the street. It turns out that an electricity cable underground had been fraying for a number of months and had finally broken in two. Needless to say we had no electricity for hours while technicians worked on the problem, which meant no heating, no cooking, no t.v. or radio etc, but thankfully they were able to restore the power the same night.

Unfortunately though, due to the sudden loss of power I was unable to shut down the computer properly, and when I turned it back on again I started getting 'serious system failure' error messages. To cut a long [and technical] story short I lost everything that was on my pc. All my MP3's, letters, photos, e-mails, address book, software..... you name it, it's gone.

So, for the last few days I've been busy reinstalling all my software and searching through floppy disks and CD's hoping that by some miracle I'd come across a copy of anything that had been deleted.

I should have know before I began that I wouldn't be that lucky.


Last Entry | Next Entry