Don't Judge A Diarist Based On One Entry

I hate being stereotyped, I hate being labelled and I hate being categorised before I'm known.

To the person calling themselves 'mystery person', who e-mailed me about the Iraqi Baby poem, if you'd actually taken the time to read the whole entry you'd have seen that it wasn't me that wrote 'that piece of anti American bullshit'.

I am a person in my own right and therefore I draw my own conclusions. I have a heart that beats just like everyone else, and I've been known to cry myself to sleep when that same heart hurts. I lose my train of thought when somebody I have issues with comes into contact with me, and I bleed the same shade of red as everyone else when I cut myself.

Don't tell me what I think, and don't tell me what I can and can't do. I've had enough restrictions placed on my life already.

Why is it you assume that I can't cope with an 'adult conversation'???

In your e-mail you wrote '..... you're depressed and you're in therapy, therefore I am of the opinion that you aren't adult enough to deal with your own problems, let alone discuss your thoughts on the world's.....'

Well I'm sorry 'mystery person', but I happen to disagree with you there.

Admitting that I need help is a far more adult thing to do than sit around thinking that all my problems will go away of their own accord, and secondly I have never said that I could heal the world or that I wanted to discuss the world's problems. To be honest I wouldn't know where to begin, and if I did I'd have gone into politics where my voice and my opinions would count for something. Besides, I don't even know where you got that idea from.

I don't like the fact that we went to war, but it's happened, and nothing that I write can change history. I don't agree that America should be angry at France as a nation for not participating or supporting them, and I think the whole freedom fries/French fries thing was pretty pathetic and petty. The rest of the world isn't going to start calling American Football Baby Bombers Ball because of the war are they??? I'm not going to elaborate or explain myself in greater detail either, not because I am ashamed of my opinions, but because I don't see why I should justify myself to you, (the 'you' here being 'mystery person').

At the end of the day I am simply human. I'm a 23 year old female, who happens to believe that a few more people should be thinking of the victims in the aftermath of this war, regardless of their age, nationality, or religion, not revelling in victory.


Last Entry | Next Entry