22 Good Things About M.E/CFS

What's so wonderful about M.E/CFS??? Not much you probably think. But there's a lot of stuff going on in my life that I'd never even dreamed of BC (Before CFS). Let me tell you about some of these dubious joys. (Then 'they' can take me away and lock me in a padded cell).

Good Thing Number 1: I have saved money on books. When my brain is 'down' I am able to read the same book I read last week without recalling the story line or the ending.

Good Thing Number 2: I am a cheap date. I don't consume alcoholic beverages or eat fancy desserts (sugar being a no-no). Such a deal!!!

Good Thing Number 3: I have found myself to be precocious. My elderly relatives are just beginning to complain of symptoms I've had for years (in more advanced stages, no less) - short term memory impairment, energy depletion, and difficulty getting around, to name a few.

Good Thing Number 4: I can be sick without even looking sick.

Good Thing Number 5: When I have a relatively 'good day', it feels wonderful. 'Normal people' have to have a much better day than me in order for them to get the same amount of pleasure.

Good Thing Number 6: I've made new friends!!! I am on a first name basis with doctors, their receptionists, pharmacists and hospital staff.

Good Thing Number 7: I have something legitimate to complain about. I have a genuine problem, and even the media, (and to a lesser extent the NHS), acknowledges its authenticity now.

Good Thing Number 8: I've been studying M.E/CFS in great depth since I got diagnosed in May 2002. Never before have I been such an expert on anything.

Good Thing Number 9: I never make my bed anymore because chances are I'll be back in it within half an hour of getting up.

Good Thing Number 10: I am easy to find. Although I sometimes venture as far as the local newsagents or to my doctors, I'm generally home.

Good Thing Number 11: People keep asking how I am, how I'm doing, and leave me lovely messages in my guestbook.

Good Thing Number 12: I have actually heard doctors say 'I don't know'. This has not been known to occur among consultations with members of the general public.

Good Thing Number 13: Let's skip 13 - I'm not susperstitious, but why take chances???

Good Thing Number 14: I have acquired a lounging/sleeping wardrobe, and I rarely have to make an effort with my appearance as nobody ever sees me.

Good Thing Number 15: No batteries, or special equipment are required. This M.E/CFS thing just runs on its own.

Good Thing Number 16: Dysequilibrium saves money on amusement park admissions. The same sensations are produced free of charge every time I stand or move too quickly.

Good Thing Number 17: I've lost weight without even trying.

Good Thing Number 18: I can watch repeats on TV over and over again because I don't remember the endings of the shows from the first time I watched them.

Good Thing Number 19: The DHSS are great pen pals - it takes at least 10 letters before I get anything sorted out with them.

Good Thing Number 20: I do my bit for the environment by saving energy and staying in bed.

Good Thing Number 21: I can feel drunk and have a hangover without drinking 2 bottles of wine - therefore M.E/CFS is a great money saving device.

Good Thing Number 22: Due to short-term memory impairment, I can hide my own Easter Eggs, Birthday presents and Christmas presents.

Let me know if you guys think of any more I can add to this list.


Last Entry | Next Entry